PostworkShop is a plug-in for Adobe® Photoshop® (PS), Corel® PaintShop Photo® Pro, Painter and even Adobe® Lightroom®. (latest versions been tested). In this tutorial we will cover the Adobe® Photoshop® plug-in mode. 

When installing PostworkShop for the first time, PostworkShop.8bf PS plug-in file is installed in the PS plug-in folder. Be sure you install it to the right folder, especially if you have both the 32- and 64-bit versions of PS. 
To make it function, you need to run PostworkShop in the standalone mode once. This is necessary otherwise PS will not recognize the plug-in.  Then you are able to use PostworkShop in the plug-in mode simply calling the filter from PS.
Please note that there are a few menu points that are not operable in the plug-in mode:
- Resize since you can resize your files in Photoshop.
- Batch processing
- Saving projects
- Drag and dropping images into the workspace


After applying styles and filters to your images, below the main viewport in the Compositing view, you have three options:

-    Apply: "render and return to the host" button. The image in PostworkShop is rendered and sent back to PS. PostworkShop remains open but you need to call it again to work on other images/layers from PS. You can close the plug-in manually.
-    Apply and exit: "render, return to the host and quit" button. The image in PostworkShop is rendered and sent back to PS. PostworkShop will be closed. Re-call the PostworkShop plug-in to apply styles to a new layer.
The difference between these two is that while “apply” does not close the plug-in window, “apply and exit” does exit and opens a window every time you open the Xycod /PostworkShop plug-in.

-    Exit without applying.

Note: If you chose to keep PWS open for a faster start when you want to use it next time, then you have to quit it manually when you don't need it any more (when you quit Photoshop). We have no means to know when PS quits, the communication is cut between PS and PWS when we return the processed image. Please note that PWS is not a usual plug-in. The "plug-in" is just a messenger between PS and the full PWS program.


It is also important to understand that once you applied a style to a PS layer, recalling the same layer in PostworkShop will not make it modifiable since the PS Image is imported and not the PostworkShop layer. If you want to be able to modify the result you get when applying styles in the plug-in, use the styles applied recently which are saved in the History subcategory. See here for more information about the History category: 2.0.2 "The (style) History Folder". We recommend that you always do a duplicate of the original image you are working on in PS.


As in the standalone software, the Preview and Preview scale work in the plug-in mode, so keep in mind that to get 100% of the preview result you have to work in a 1:1 preview scale. See 2.1 "Understanding Previews and Final Images" for more information.